SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH (January 24, 2022) – The Salt Lake Chamber today announced that Ray Pickup of WCF Insurance will be honored with the 43rd Giant in our City award. The award recognizes those with exceptional and distinguished service, as well as extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely known as the most prestigious business award given in Utah. 

“There are many individuals in our community who time and again step up to support the greater community, and within this select group Ray Pickup is first among equals,” said Derek Miller, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber and Downtown Alliance, in announcing the award. “Whether he is donating time at the local food bank or raising funds for a grant program, Ray and WCF Insurance are among the first to lend a helping hand and say, ‘What can I do to help?’ This is at the heart of Ray’s very nature, recognized by everyone who knows him, and I would be one of the first to say our community owes him a debt of gratitude. We are delighted to be able to recognize him as a ‘Giant in our City.’”

Ray Pickup currently serves as a director and chief executive officer of WCF Insurance. He joined WCF in 1993 as CFO, became COO in 2006, and president and CEO in 2008. Prior to WCF, Pickup was vice president of finance at First Health Strategies and a senior audit manager for Ernst & Young. He is active in the community and serves on several boards, including the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Directors, the Economic Development Corporation of Utah Board of Trustees as the Audit Committee chair, the Junior Achievement of Utah Advisory Board, and the University of Utah Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute Advisory Board. He is also a member of the U.S. Department of Transportation Air Ambulance and Patient Advisory Committee as representative of the workers’ compensation insurance industry. Pickup holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Brigham Young University and is a certified public accountant.

“I am overwhelmed and honored to receive this recognition,” said Pickup. “I’m grateful to live in the great state of Utah and to associate with all of the amazing people who make Utah a great place to live and do business. I especially appreciate the Salt Lake Chamber for the outstanding work they do in representing Utah business.”

The award will be presented at the 2021 Giant in our City celebration, April 21, 2022, at the Grand America Hotel. 

For more information: click here [].


About the Salt Lake Chamber

The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest and longest-standing business association. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents the broad interests of the state’s 63,000-plus employers, which employ more than 1.4 million Utahns. This includes thousands of Chamber members and their employees. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champion’s community prosperity.

About A Giant In Our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.

Past Giant In Our City Recipients 

1970: Eric C. Aaberg
1972: Clarence Bamberger
1974: E.M. Naughton
1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace
1978: N. Eldon Tanner
1981: John W. Gallivan
1982: George S. Eccles
1984: Richard A. Van Winkle
1985: Wendell J. Ashton
1986: Arch L. Madsen
1987: B.Z. Kastler
1990: S. Chris Johnson
1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton
1994: G. Frank Joklik
1995: Fred S. Ball
1998: Kenneth Y. Knight
1999: Scott S. Parker
2000: Verl Topham
2001: Spencer Eccles
2002: W. Mitt Romney
2003: Don Cash
2003: Nick Rose
2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley
2005: Jon M. Huntsman
2006: James LeVoy Sorenson
2007: Larry H. Miller
2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson
2009: Roger Boyer
2009: Ellis Ivory
2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish
2011: Bishop H. David Burton
2012: Kem Gardner
2013: Harris H. Simmons
2013: A. Scott Anderson
2014: Michael O. Leavitt
2015: Gail Miller
2016: Ron Jibson
2017: Lane Beattie
2018: Senator Orrin Hatch
2019: Fred Lampropoulos
2020: Governor Gary R. Herbert
2021: Robert & Kathi Garff