Dallas H. Bradford

Board Chair

Mr. Bradford has been on the board since 2003 and has served as chair since October 2009. He retired as a CPA in 1997 from Arthur Andersen, an international accounting firm, where he spent 33 years and was the managing partner of its Salt Lake City office. Mr. Bradford graduated from Brigham Young University in 1963 with a degree in accounting. His community and professional service includes president of the Utah Association of Certified Public Accountants, treasurer of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Governors, Utah Symphony Executive Committee, and Salt Lake Housing Authority Board of Commissioners. Mr. Bradford is on the WCF Mutual and National boards and sits on the Audit, Investment, and Compensation Committees.

Lane A. Summerhays

Vice Chair

Mr. Summerhays joined WCF Insurance in 1992 as president and CEO. He retired in 2008 and joined the board as a director in 2011. Prior to WCF, he was a senior vice president and CFO with Alta Health Strategies; a manager with Deloitte, Haskins & Sells; and an audit senior with Arthur Andersen & Co. Mr. Summerhays currently serves as the president of the Days of '47, Inc. and is a director on the boards of Med One Group and Continental Bancorporation. Mr. Summerhays holds a bachelor's and a master's degree from the University of Utah and is a certified public accountant. He is a member of the WCF Mutual and National boards and sits on the Investment, Marketing, and Compensation Committees.

Matt Lyon


Mr. Lyon joined WCF Insurance in 2017 as chief operating officer and became CEO in 2022. Before WCF, he worked as head of commercial insurance product management at Farmers Insurance Group of Companies in Los Angeles. Matt has broad experience in the insurance industry, successfully serving in product management, operations, and strategy roles at Nationwide Insurance and The Hartford Insurance Group, among others. Matt received his BS in economics from the University of Utah and his MBA from DePaul University.

Kent Cannon

Mr. Cannon joined the board in 2016. He has over 40 years of experience in the insurance industry, including strategy development and implementation, financial management, acquisitions and divestitures, investment oversight, product development, risk management, and leadership development. He is currently the president of Roy & Associates and an executive in residence at the University of Utah David Eccles School of Business. He is the former CEO of Beneficial Life Insurance Company. Mr. Cannon holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Utah and is a fellow of the Society of Actuaries and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries. He presently serves on the WCF Mutual and National boards as a member of the Audit and Investment Committees.

Jan Frank

Ms. Frank joined the board in 2023. An accomplished insurance executive, her deep experience in the trade spans almost three decades. Most recently, she was Chair, CEO, and President of Pacific Compensation Insurance Company, a specialty workers’ comp carrier in California. Prior to that, Jan served as President and COO of Zenith Insurance, as well as CEO and President of the California State Compensation Insurance Fund. Ms. Frank holds an Executive MBA from the University of Denver, Daniels School of Business, and an Advanced Executive Education Program Certificate from the University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School of Business.

Natalie Gochnour

Ms. Gochnour serves as an associate dean in the David Eccles School of Business and director of the Kem C. Gardner Policy Institute at the University of Utah. She also serves as the chief economist for the Salt Lake Chamber. She has authored over 250 published columns and co-hosts the weekly public radio program, "Both Sides of the Aisle." She has an undergraduate and master’s degree in economics from the University of Utah and specializes in and teaches public finance. Ms. Gochnour has been a WCF Insurance board member since 2022 and sits on the Audit and Investment committee.  

Peggy Larsen

Ms. Larsen is a former senior vice president at WCF Insurance and president of the WCF Foundation. She has Certified Insurance Counselor, Associated Risk Manager, Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriter designations and is a Certified Workers’ Compensation Professional. Ms. Larsen has been in the insurance industry for 45 years. She owned her own agency and worked for many larger brokerages, including Marsh, Hilb, Rogal and Hamilton, and the Lockton Companies before coming to WCF. Ms. Larsen was with WCF for the past 24 years where she oversaw advertising and marketing campaigns. She sits on the WCF National board and is on the Risk Oversight and Compliance Committees.

Heidi Leithead Villa

Ms. Leithead Villa is a shareholder at Parr Brown Gee & Loveless law firm in Salt Lake City where she has worked since 1987. She focuses her practice on employment law. She sits on the WCF Mutual and National boards and is a member of the Marketing and Risk Oversight and Compliance Committees.

Ray D. Pickup

Mr. Pickup joined WCF in 1993 as CFO, became COO in 2006, and president and CEO in 2008. He retired and joined the board as a director in 2022. Prior to WCF, Mr. Pickup was vice president of finance at First Health Strategies and a senior audit manager for Ernst & Young.  Mr. Pickup holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Brigham Young University and is a former certified public accountant.  He is on the WCF Mutual and National boards.

Randy Rigby

Mr. Rigby is the former president of the Utah Jazz and worked for the NBA franchise for three decades. During his time with the Jazz, he also served as president and COO of Larry H. Miller Sports & Entertainment and general manager of KJZZ-TV. He also served as an alternate member of the NBA Board of Governors. Mr. Rigby graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in business management. Mr. Rigby is on WCF's Mutual and National boards and sits on the Compensation and Risk Oversight and Compliance Committees.

Dan Seitz

Mr. Seitz has more than four decades of experience representing diverse public policy interests in the Indiana legislature and working with Indiana regulatory agencies, with a focus on insurance and health policy. He is a former partner with Bose, McKinney & Evans law firm and a former vice president of governmental relations for Lincoln National Corp. where he directed regulatory relations in all states. Mr. Seitz is formerly the managing principal and currently senior policy advisor for Bose Public Affairs Group. He graduated from Indiana University Bloomington's Maurer School of Law. Mr. Seitz has been a WCF National board member since 1989 and sits on the Audit Committee.

Craig Smith

Mr. Smith is the former president and COO of Moreton & Company. He is a member of the WCF National board and sits on the Investment Committee.