Text us at: 385.351.8000

Lost Wage Compensation: Nevada

You are paid lost wage compensation when your physician says you are unable to work because of a work-related accident or illness and can provide the appropriate documentation.

Lost wage compensation amounts are based on a percentage of your average weekly wage at the time of the injury and are subject to the minimum and maximum amounts set by law.  Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 616A.065 and 616C.475.

If you are off work 20 days or less, there is no lost wage compensation paid for the first five days after your date of injury. If you are unable to work 20 or more days, lost wage compensation begins the day after your injury.  All compensation benefits are subject to minimums and maximums.

Types of Lost Wage Compensation

Temporary Total Disability (TTD)
TTD is paid when you are temporarily unable to work at all.  Lost wage compensation is calculated at 66-2/3rds of the average monthly wage at time of injury.  NRS requires an employee’s average weekly wage to be capped at 150 percent of the state average weekly wage.  If the average monthly wage is less than 150 percent of the state average weekly wage, compensation is 66-2/3rds of the employee’s actual wage.

Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
TPD is paid when you are temporarily working reduced hours or at a reduced rate of pay because of your injury or illness. Lost wage compensation for temporary partial disability is calculated at 67% of lost wages, never to exceed the TTD rate.  TPD is paid for a maximum of 24 months.

TTD and TPD payments continue until you are released to return to work full duty or until you reach maximum medical improvement or medical stability. If your physician reports that you may work with certain limitations, and if your employer is able to provide full-time or part-time modified duty within these limitations, you will not be entitled to temporary disability compensation.

Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
PPD is paid when your accident or illness causes a permanent impairment, generally a loss of physical function. Your treating physician should determine the percentage of impairment after you have reached maximum medical improvement or medical stability. PPD is paid every two weeks until the award is paid in full. 

Permanent Total Disability (PTO)
PTD is paid if you are permanently disabled from performing any type of gainful employment.  If it is determined that you are totally and permanently disabled as the result of a job-related injury or disease, income benefits are available for an extended period of time. The benefit amount is based on 66-2/3rds of the employee’s average monthly wage.  The amount of the PTD benefit may be reduced for a previously paid PPD award.

Death Benefits
If an employee dies because of a work-related injury or disease, workers compensation insurance will pay burial expenses up to $10,000.00, plus the cost of transporting the remains of the deceased employee.

Survivor benefits are apportioned between a surviving spouse and all dependent children.  Funeral expenses may also be available for dependents if the death of a dependent occurs within the time that benefits are payable.

 

For more information, visit the Nevada Industrial Commission website.

 

This company was issued a secure rating by the A.M. Best Company, click for additional details

Insurance coverage in all states other than Utah is provided by WCF National Insurance Company, formerly known as Advantage Workers Compensation Insurance Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of WCF Mutual Insurance Company. WCF National Insurance Company is domiciled in Utah; NAIC No. 40517. Administrative office: P.O. Box 571918, Salt Lake City, UT 84157-1918.
Due to scheduled maintenance, the website may be unavailable daily from 9:00 p.m. - 1:00 a.m. MST Privacy Statement CCPA Privacy Policy | 800.446.2667
Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved